AeroFarms

Danville, VA AgTech Acquired

AeroFarms grows microgreens and leafy greens indoors using aeroponic technology, operating from the Cane Creek Centre site outside Danville, Virginia. The company describes itself as the U.S. leader in retail microgreens, which are sold in about 2,000 stores including Whole Foods Market, Harris Teeter and Costco. Founded in 2004 and originally headquartered in Newark, New Jersey, AeroFarms passed through Chapter 11 in 2023 under a group of existing investors and was acquired by an affiliate of the family investment office Palm Ventures in April 2026, a transaction the company said sharply reduced its debt.

Acquired

AeroFarms has been acquired

Acquired by Palm Ventures (affiliate) Apr 2026

This company is no longer available on our private secondary market.

Overview

Company data and valuation marks are estimates and may be incomplete, stale, erroneous, or revised.

Founded

2004

Employees

51–200

Total Funding

$361.5M

10 rounds

Secondary Signals (Note: SetterVC does not verify the accuracy of these)

3 signals
M&A Recent Terms not disclosed 2026-06-11

AeroFarms confirms sale to an affiliate of family investment office Palm Ventures; deal closed April 2026, terms undisclosed, company debt sharply reduced.

New control and a new chief executive; pre-deal equity positions restructured.

Leadership Change Recent 2026-04-01

Gustavo Burger (ex-Kraft Heinz, ex-AB InBev) installed as CEO under new Palm Ventures ownership.

CPG-veteran leadership signals an operational turnaround focus post-distress.

Restructuring Recent 2025-12-19

Closed Danville-Pittsylvania VA facility, terminated all 173 employees Dec 19, 2025 after largest investor withdrew funding; later sold to Palm Ventures.

Signals severe liquidity distress preceding the Palm Ventures sale; prior equity likely impaired.

Funding

Funding data and valuation marks are estimates and may be incomplete, stale, erroneous, or revised.

Rounds in grey italics are unconfirmed.

Total raised $361.5M across 10 rounds

Last updated 09-23-2026

DateRoundAmount RaisedValuationLead Investors
Aug 7, 2025 Equity financing Press release — — Not disclosed
Apr 9, 2024 Series B-1 $5M — Not disclosed
Sep 18, 2023 Recapitalization - Series A/A-1/B Preferred Press release $70.8M — Grosvenor Food & AgTech

Leadership

  • Gustavo Burger

    Chief Executive Officer

Access live market data

Sign Up

Data collected with AI, which can make mistakes. Please double-check this information.